2023 AGM – Committee and Awards

Every year, we use our AGM to reflect on the last 12 months of diving and club activities. We have reports from our committee members, we give out our annual club awards and vote in next years committee.

Committee Update

This year, we said thank you to our outgoing Chairman Brian, Equipment Officer Byron and membership secretary Liam and welcomed to the Committee, Paul as our new Comms Officer, Nick our new Training Officer & Alex our new Equipment Officer. We also had a few committee members shuffle positions as well as some stay in their positions:

  • Chair – Jack
  • Diving Officer
  • Secretary – Henry
  • Treasurer – Andrew
  • Training Officer – Nick
  • Membership Secretary – Grace
  • Comms Officer – Paul
  • Social Secretary – Emma
  • Boat Officer – Steve
  • Equipment Officer – Alex

Club Awards

Every year we give out 2 prestigious awards for Diver and Club Person of the Year that are voted for by our members.

Diver of the Year is an award presented to members that have used the last 12 months to advance their diving skills and this years it was awarded to Nick for generally organising so many trips and making himself indispensable to the club.

Club Person of the Year is awarded to a Putney BSAC member that has gone above and beyond and contributed immensely to the club over the last year. This year, the club voted for Steve, our Boat Officer, for all of his hard work and perseverance to get our new rhib Femti up and running. Huge thank you to Steve.

The final award we present at our AGM  is the Skomer Claw, presented for the biggest diving related mistake or mishap. There’s also a runner up award, the Stoney Diver, such is the likelihood that things just go wrong on a diving trip.

Winner of the Skomer Claw: Nic – All well and good getting all prepared for a good dive but just don’t forget the compressed air.

Runner Up and Winner of the Stoney Diver: Lukas. All we can say is ‘Don’t Drink & Dive’.

Congratulations to all of our award winners, a massive thank you to our outgoing committee members and good luck to this year newly elected committee – here’s to an amazing next 12months.

And best photograph of the year, voted by our members goes to Jack.