The club held its AGM on 19th November at the HYC. The AGM is the only formal club meeting of the year when all the members get together to review the past year, nominate who will be looking after the club for the following year, plan for 2014 and also reward achievements and contributions to the club by individual members.

This year the annual Putney BSAC awards went to:

Club Person of the Year – Darren Jones

Darren won for organising two hugely successful trips aboard last year, to Tenerife and Kenya. For fitting an A-frame to the club rib, a task which has eluded many previous boat officers and for all the extra time and hard work he put into the club throughout last year. The club would be a much poorer place without him.

Diver of the Year – Tim Watson

As the person who won this award and writer of this article I’d like to think I won this award because of my dolphin like grace underwater, charming personality and devilish good looks, however, it may have been that other members of the club were just taking pity on me.

Photographer of the Year – John Heagney

John won for the stunning photos he took in Kenya, which you can look at here

Skomer Claw – John Heagney

The Skomer Claw is given to the club member responsible for the funniest incident of the year. John won this for a mishap he had in Kenya, the details of which are not fit to be put on our website. However if you meet him I’m sure he’d be more than willing to tell the story.


One of the key functions of the AGM is to elect a committee for the upcoming year. This year we can welcome back a couple of old faces that are returning to the committee after taking a few years off and some members who are joining the committee for the first time .

Our committee members for 2014 are:

Chair Philippa Davis
Diving Officer Nick Levesque
Training Officer Steve Gibbons
Membership Secretary Philippa Davis
Communications Tim Watson
Treasurer Michal Benko
Secretary Iris Wang
Boat Officer Darren Jones
Social Secretary Tor Parkinson

On behalf of the 2014 committee I’d like to extend a big thank you to our outgoing committee members Brian, Flo, Justine, Andy, Peter and John. They all made a huge effort in helping out with the committee last year and it’s thanks to people like them giving up some of there time that the club keeps running.